Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Wholesale changes for NFL on CBS Broadcasts in 2014

If there is one thing that is certain in this world, it's that there will always be change. People just haven't expected much change from CBS, both in regular TV and in terms of sports, after they've dominated the market for nearly the last 10 years. This year will be quite different. After making massive schedule changes for most of their shows this fall, CBS will be making masive broadcast assignment changes. 

Two broadcast teams- Jim Nantz and Phil Simms as well as Ian Eagle and Dan Fouts, remain the same. Nantz and Simms will be joined though by Tracy Wolfson for everyone of their broadcasts this season. Eagle and Fouts meanwhile have been promoted to the #2 broadcast team. The rest of the changes occur mostly because Marv Albert has retired from football broadcasts, though that isn't the case in one instance. Greg Gumbel goes from the #2 broadcast team to the #3 broadcast team where he will be joined by Trent Green. Trent Green replaces Dan Dierdorf and joins the network from Westwood One. 

For the rest of the changes, it is as follows.

* Kevin Harlan replaces Marv Albert on the #4 broadcast team and will be paired with Rich Gannon.

*Spero Dedes moves up to the #5 broadcast team and will be paired with Solomon Wilcotts.

*Andrew Catalon moves up from CBS Sports Networks #1 college football broadcast team to the #6 broadcast booth. He will be in a 3-man booth with Steve Beuerlein and Steve Tasker.

*Jenny Dell and Evan Washburn will be used as sideline reporters throughout the season.

*Reserve broadcasters include Brian Anderson and Tom McCarthy doing play-by-play and Adam Archuleta and Chris Simms doing analysis.

Here's your full release from CBS Sports. 


Ian Eagle and Dan Fouts Named THE NFL ON CBS’s No. 2 Announce Team

Reporter Tracy Wolfson Joins Jim Nantz and Phil Simms on Network’s Lead Crew
Newcomer Trent Green Teams with Veteran Greg Gumbel 

The CBS Television Network will begin its 55th year of broadcasting the NFL with Jim Nantz, Phil Simms and Tracy Wolfson leading THE NFL ON CBS into the Network’s 2014 NFL season. Nantz, Simms and Wolfson will call the full slate of Thursday Night Football games on CBS and the NFL Network, along with selected Sunday games on CBS. Sean McManus, Chairman, CBS Sports, and Executive Producer, THE NFL ON CBS, announced today several changes to the 2014 announcer line-up along with the complete list of broadcast pairings. 

Ian Eagle and Dan Fouts have been named THE NFL ON CBS’s No. 2 announce team and will call the network’s top game on Sundays when Nantz and Simms do not call a game.
Wolfson, who served as the Network’s lead college football reporter for the past 10 years, will join the lead announce team of Nantz and Simms as THE NFL ON CBS lead reporter. In addition to Wolfson, THE NFL ON CBS will utilize additional sideline reporters during the season including Jenny Dell and Evan Washburn.

THE NFL ON CBS announce team is solidified even more this year as the deepest in sports television as Greg Gumbel will team with newcomer Trent Green. THE NFL ON CBS announce team also will feature several new pairings including Kevin Harlan with Rich Gannon, Spero Dedes with Solomon Wilcots, and Andrew Catalon forming a three-man booth with Steve Tasker and Steve Beuerlein. 

James Brown once again will anchor the CBS Television Network’s pre-game studio show, THE NFL TODAY, along with analysts Boomer Esiason, Bill Cowher, and newcomers Tony Gonzalez and Bart Scott, from the CBS Broadcast Center in New York City. Jason La Canfora will continue to serve as the “NFL Insider.”

Following are the Network’s NFL announcer pairings for the 2014 season (play-by-play/analyst):
Jim Nantz/Phil Simms//Tracy Wolfson
Ian Eagle/Dan Fouts
Greg Gumbel/Trent Green
Kevin Harlan/Rich Gannon
Spero Dedes/Solomon Wilcots
Andrew Catalon/Steve Beuerlein/Steve Tasker 

Game coverage also will include play-by-play announcers Brian Anderson and Tom McCarthy, as well as analysts Adam Archuleta and Chris Simms.

McManus also serves as Executive Producer for THE NFL ON CBS. 

Lance Barrow is the coordinating producer and lead game producer for THE NFL ON CBS, and Michael Arnold is the lead game director. Drew Kaliski is producer for THE NFL TODAY, while Bob Matina directs. David Berson is President, CBS Sports. Harold Bryant is Executive Producer & Vice President, Production, CBS Sports.

* * * * *
Follow CBS Sports on Twitter: @CBSSportsGang and @NFLonCBS

1 comment:

  1. thanks for all your posts...may want to check your spelling on Marv Albert.